Zero - "Chance in a Million"

(6/6/1994, Whirled Records)
Track Listing:
  1. Chance In A Million
  2. Horses
  3. Catalina
  4. End Of The World Blues
  5. Home On The Range
  6. Forever Is Nowhere
  7. Mercury Blues
  8. Roll Me After

Recorded live in 1992, the disc captures Zero the way it was meant to be heard. The group undoubtedly is reminscent of Jerry Garcia’s Legion of Mary, and many of the musicians either in this band or making guest appearances on this disc are long-time associates of both Garcia and the Grateful Dead. The list includes drummer Greg Anton, keyboardists Pete Sears and Nicky Hopkins, and bassists Bobby Vega and John Kahn. Robert Hunter wrote the lyrics, and Vince Welnick sits in for some serious jamming. The true leaders are saxophone player Martin Fierro who kicks some major-jamming-ass alongside the soaring, floating, Jerry-induced guitar of Steve Kimock. The title track hints at Touch of Grey, and Catalina hints at Foolish Heart. Yet, there’s a lot more to Zero than just its Grateful Dead influences, and these songs have their own unique feel. ~John Metzger, Music Box