Gerald Albright - "G"

(9/30/2016, Bright Music Records)

Track Listing:
  1. Taking Control
  2. Read Your Mind
  3. Boom Boom
  4. Lovely Day (feat. Michael McDonald)
  5. Frankie B.
  6. Funkism
  7. I Miss You
  8. G and Doug E. (feat. Doug E. Fresh)
  9. We Came to Play (La Calle)
  10. Closure
  11. We Came to Play (La Calle) [feat. Rick Watford] [Remix Bonus Track]
  12. Digital Booklet - G

“G” is Bright Music Record’s very first CD release! It is a special musical project, as it is Gerald Albright’s debut CD as an independent artist and as owner of Bright Music Records. “G” invites you to not only enjoy Albright’s fluency as a saxophonist and flautist, but also the command that he demonstrates on the bass guitar.

Albright is a Los Angeles, California native. For decades, and through 17 solo CD’s previously, he has wowed us with the sultry yet funky sounds of his compositions. You will be blown away with “G”. The CD slams with the track “Taking Control,” where one might say is Earth, Wind, and Fire meets Michael Jackson. Albright slows down the pace a bit with a sexy, head-bobbing tune called “Read Your Mind”. He will have your fingers snapping and shoulders jolting to the funky horns and beat boxing sounds of “G and Doug E.”, partnering with special guest Hip-Hop legend, Doug E. Fresh!

Albright gives homage to two good friends who he has respected throughout his musical career – Bill Withers and Frankie Beverly. He did his rendition of “Lovely Day”, featuring another good friend of his, the iconic Michael McDonald on vocals; and a MAZE inspired tune called “Frankie B.” “G” wouldn’t be complete without the funk. “Funkism” will take you out of your seat with its combination of Old School meets Contemporary Jazz. Once again Albright shows off on bass guitar while never letting you down with his own unique sound displayed on alto, tenor, and baritone saxophones.