Tommy Guerrero - "Perpetual"

(10/30/2015, Too Good)

Track Listing:
  1. Water In Your Hands
  2. Thoughts of Tomorrow
  3. At The Circles Edge
  4. The Fire Remains
  5. Battles of the Forgotten
  6. Atacama
  7. Where the Sky Drops Into The Sea
  8. Time Burns Bright
  9. Los oceanos de arena
  10. The Spirit Form
  11. Signals from Points Beyond
  12. The Silence of Thunder
  13. Throwing Stones at the Moon
  14. Embers of Memory
  15. 211
  16. Sun Rays Like Stilts

A continuation to Perpetuum, an album exclusively released in Japan in 2014, Tommy’s intent for Perpetual is “to strip the tunes down and create more of an atmosphere than being concerned with writing ‘songs’… The other idea [is] to abandon the damn computron and record everything on my Tascam 388 1/4″ 8 track tape machine. The limitations with an old tape deck were welcomed with open arms – … I gotta say this is one of my faves and hope people will connect with what I [am] trying to convey. Music is all about an emotional response for me… I hope it resonates with you in a positive way.”

From Mission District punkers to Shibuya-ku hipsters- Tommy’s music does resonate in a positive way. His melodies dance lightly around your head while the rhythms build under your feet and move your hips. His is SOUL music, made by a street kid raised on Santana and Bill Withers (with more than a little nod to the Clash and Public Enemy in there, too) who – through Perpetual – continues to share that life is “about the journey not the destination.”