Peter Horvath - "Absolute Reality"

(1/29/2016, Foreign Matter Records)
Absolute Reality

Track Listing:
  1. Absolute Reality
  2. Carla
  3. Escape from Oakland
  4. Nassau Nights
  5. Waltz for Ella
  6. Fake Out
  7. Miss You
  8. Sardegna
  9. Foreign Matter
  10. Braden's Song

Contemporary jazz pianist/keyboardist and composer, Peter Horvath has been perfecting his craft since the age of 6 when he began taking classical piano lessons. Born in Budapest, Hungary, he attended the Bela Bartok Conservatory of Music. After attending the Vienna Conservatory of Music in Austria and the Berklee College of Music in Boston, he has since performed, toured, and recorded with a long line of world-class artists like Bobby Hutcherson, Joe Henderson, Richie Cole, Ernie Watts, Eddie Henderson and Benny Maupin, Arturo Sandoval, Marcus Miller, Pee Wee Ellis Funk Assembly, Bob Sheppard, Tiger Okoshi, Lalah Hathaway, Melba Moore, Ledisi, Keith Washington, Rosie Gaines, Kenneth Nash and the Oakland Symphony.

His new album, Absolute Reality, has been in the making for some time now and it’s featuring some of the greatest names in jazz – Bob Mintzer, Randy Brecker, Victor Bailey, Lenny White, Dean Brown, the late Ricky Lawson, Ray Obiedo, Larry Kimpel, Walfredo Reyes,Jr, Karl Perazzo, Peter Michael Escovedo, etc… All original compositions, the music fuses a variety of elements from hard hitting funk jazz with horns, to pieces with latin and straight ahead jazz influences, along with some beautiful mid tempo tunes and ballads, even a solo piano performance to close the album with. The sound represents the musical diversity of the Bay Area as well as his inspirations and experiences in performing and recording with some of the greats in jazz and beyond.