Rowan Brothers - "Crazy People"

(2002, There Records)
Track Listing:
  1. Crazy People
  2. Nothin' Personal
  3. Red Rockin' Chair
  4. Pretty Senorita
  5. Don't Pick The Blossom Before The Flower Grows
  6. Free Mexican Airforce
  7. That's Alright (Long Time)
  8. In 1999
  9. Shoppin' Feet
  10. Ain't Nothin' Like A Family

The follow up to the 1994 Sugarhill album, ‘Crazy People’ is only the second time the brothers have recorded together since the early 1970’s. All three brothers (Chris, Lorin & Peter) have had solo careers. Peter Rowan was a member of Seatrain & his early association with Jerry Garcia led to Jerry producing the Brothers’ first album for Columbia.

Peter,Chris & Lorin teamed up together in the ’70s to record 3 albums of their original progressive country/rock/bluegrass, on Asylum/Warner Bros records.

Their last regrouping was in ’96 to make an acoustic American roots CD, Tree on a Hill for Sugar Hill Records as Peter Rowan & The Rowan Brothers, featuring Peter on lead vocals with Chris and Lorin singing harmony.

Peter, Chris and Lorin also appear on Red House Records’ Kate Wolf Memorial CD from a couple of years ago, singing one of her trademark songs, “Like a River”.

The brothers reunited for the release of their acoustic swing/Caribbean flavored CD, Crazy People, culminating over 10 years in the making. Originally recorded in Nashville,with stellar back-up musicians Jerry Douglas (dobro), Sam Bush(mandolin), Roy Husky Jr., Edgar Meyer (stand-up bass),and Larry Atamanuik (drums), the recordings were later finished in the last couple of years in Northern California, adding Flaco Jimenez (accordian) and Dick Bright(violin) among others.