Rupa Marya - "Oval"

(9/4/2015, Electric Gumbo Radio Music)

Track Listing:
  1. C'est pas d'l'amour
  2. Maintenant
  3. L'elephant
  4. Wishful Thinking
  5. La peinture
  6. The Request
  7. Mal de mer
  8. Woh Kagaz Ki Kashti

Oval is a sensuous collection of string quartet arrangements of music by composer and vocalist Rupa, as she returns to the intimate nature of her songwriting after 9 years of leading global alternative outfit Rupa & the April Fishes. Working together with composer/arranger Mark Orton (Tin Hat, composer for film Nebraska), the songs lay bare the raw lyricism of Rupa’s melodies while adding the rhythmic and harmonic depth of Orton’s arrangements, rendered impeccably by Grammy-nominated Quartet San Francisco and producer/bassist Todd Sickafoose (Ani DiFranco, Andrew Bird). The lineup also includes JHNO on duduk, Ben Goldberg on clarinet, Allison Miller on drums, Jonathan Goldberger and Adam Levy on guitar, Rob Reich on accordion and Prasant Radhakrishnan on carnatic saxophone.

“Rupa’s musical and personal focus has shifted decidedly inward. Since giving birth to her son in September of 2013, she’s recalibrated her sound to harmonize with her changing consciousness, a transformation wrought by bringing a new life into the world…Her remarkable new album Oval , which surrounds her voice with a silken skein of strings, reflects her new state of mind… It has inspired her reimagining some of her most beautiful songs”. – Andrew Gilbert / Berkeleyside