Peter Rowan - "Crucial Country"

(2006, There Records)
Track Listing:
  1. Deal With The Devil
  2. Howlin' At The Moon
  3. The Walls Of Time
  4. Tumbleweed
  5. Panama Red
  6. Rainmaker
  7. Wings of Horses
  8. No Woman No Cry
  9. Land of the Navajo
  10. Ancient Tones

Recorded live at the Telluride Festival in 1994, Crucial Country captures live an incredible band of stars in one of their greatest moments. From bluegrass standard “The Walls of Time”, co-written with Bill Monroe, to “Panama Red”, one of Rowan’s signature classics, and an inspirational version of Bob Marley’s “No Woman, No Cry”, this record makes country crucial.

Peter Rowan: lead vocal and guitar
Jerry Douglas: dobro, harmonies
Larry Atamanuik: drum kit
Sam Bush: mandolin, fiddle, harmonies
Viktor Krauss: acoustic upright bass
Kester Smith: congas, percussion

Peter Rowan was one of the major cult bluegrass artists of the ’80s, winning a devoted, international fan base through his independent records and constant touring. A skilled singer/songwriter, Rowan also yodels, and plays numerous stringed instruments and the saxophone. From Bill Monroe’s Bluegrass Boys, to Earth Opera with David Grisman, to Seatrain, then Old & In The Way (with David Grisman & Jerry Garcia) and recordings with his brothers in The Rowan Brothers, Peter continues to release extraordinary recordings in a wide range of styles.

Sam Bush went on from Newgrass Revival to play with Emmylou Harris as did Sea Train associate, drummer Larry Atamanuik. Jerry produced several of Peter’s solo projects for Sugar Hill. Jerry and Larry both now play with Alison Krauss and Union Station. Viktor Krauss has been with Lyle Lovett for a number of years, Sam continues his solo career and Kester Smith still plays drums with Taj Mahal.