Gregg Karukas - "Looking Up"

(1/1/2005, Karukas Music / Nightowl Records)
Track Listing:
  1. Girl In The Red Dress
  2. London Underground
  3. Looking Up
  4. Relentless
  5. First Flight Home
  6. Show Me The Way
  7. Corner Club/Clube da Esquina
  8. Isabella
  9. CrossRhodes
  10. Deep Into You
  11. Lost In Negril

One of the most superb keyboardists in Smooth Jazz has released one of our most favorite CDs of 2005, Looking Up. Karukas has always had a knack for kick ass melodies (it’s okay to use that term in Smooth Jazz, we’re not prudes). However, on this new release he is demonstrating a whole new level of mastery on his compositions… Special guests include Rick Braun, Ricardo Silveira, Peter White, Thom Rotella, and Richard Smith. The entire album is truly enjoyable from beginning to end, so while it’s challenging to pick out stand out tracks to highlight, we’ll try… The sizzling and smooth, “London Underground” is the first to come to mind. A hit for Smooth Jazz radio from coast to coast. Another gem is the latest radio single, “Show Me The Way,” sure to be a big favorite with music enthusiasts this fall as well as the sensuous “Deep Into You” and something near and dear to my heart, the Caribbean influenced, “Lost In Negril” (yes please). Looking Upis definitely in my Top 10 favorite Smooth Jazz releases in 2005 for it’s fashionable and alluring listening experience. ~Sandy Shore