Newspaper Girl

Netoband – “Newspaper Girl”

(8/14/2012, Caravela Music)

Track Listing

  1. Newspaper Girl
  2. Let’s Hope
  3. Wichita Lineman
  4. Samba For Kevin
  5. Margot
  6. Margot On Skype (acoustic)
  7. The Girl From Ipanema
  8. Silent Cottage
  9. Song For Jai
  10. I Am The Walrus

This excellent, mostly instrumental album marks a new and happy cycle in the life of Jose Neto, a Brazilian-born guitarist who has long been a gentle force on the Marin music scene. The title track, a breezy Brazilian-flavored jazz tune featuring sure-handed keyboard work by Frank Martin and effervescent percussion by Cafe de Silva, was inspired by a rekindled romance with a woman in Brazil who was Neto’s girlfriend when he was 17. Neto wrote “Song for Jai” after attending a kirtan camp in San Anselmo led by contemporary kirtan master Jai Uttal, who chants and plays harmonium on the soothing, meditative tune, also featuring Daniel Paul on tabla.  On the familiar “The Girl from Ipanema,” Neto leavens the classic Jobin tune with discordant passages and notes in the melody line that are unexpected and surprising, adding astringency to a sweet Brazilian classical, making it new and interesting again.