Marcus Anderson - "Now"

(6/28/2011, Anderson Music, LLC)

Track Listing:
  1. All or Nothing
  2. Now
  3. Back to the Basics
  4. Feeling You
  5. M-Powered
  6. Remember the Time
  7. 85 to 95
  8. It Doesnt Matter
  9. Transition
  10. So In Love
  11. Together Forever
  12. Cruisin
  13. Family Bond

“Saxophonist Marcus Anderson, a Capitol Jazz Fest Challenge winner and student who has studied with Branford Marsalis, is a man you want to know if you like your contemporary jazz funky, urban and uplifting. On the title track, he hits his stride with a bouncy soprano sax tune that’s sure to remind listeners of the best of Kim Waters. Nicolas Cole adds a sparking piano solo to that song, and returns with a quick-fingered, jazzy solo on ‘Transition.’ ‘Back to Basics’ is a romantic groove with Julian Vaughn’s lead bass solo making it stand out from the pack. Anderson also lays down his burnished, deeper-sounding tenor sax on such tempting originals as ‘Feeling You’ and ‘M-Powered,’ the latter produced, mixed and arranging by the award-winning jazz duo Four80East. Old-school fans will simply dig Anderson’s talkbox talents on two updating of classics, Smokey Robinson’s ‘Crusin’’ and Michael Jackson’s ‘Remember the Time.’ Add the urban-adult flavor of ‘Together Forever’ with Marcel Anderson’s smooth vocals and Marcus Cole’s smoky vocals on the anthemic ‘Family Bond,’and you’ve got yourself one the best CDs of 2011’. – Brian Soergel, JazzTimes