Ray Obiedo - "There Goes That"

(1/20/2015, Rhythmus Records)
Track Listing:
  1. Southern Side
  2. Fayola
  3. Werewolf
  4. Small Fortune
  5. Four Square
  6. Avila
  7. There Goes That
  8. Ten Thirty
  9. Somebody
  10. Almost Certain

The 7th release by Bay Area guitarist/composer Ray Obiedo There Goes That on Rhythmus Records is a another collection of original compositions fused with Latin Jazz, Funk and Brazilian styled rhythms. His eclectic groove oriented compositions never stray far from his love of R&B. The melodies are simply stated and gracefully glide over jazz influenced chord structures.

Obiedo enlisted some of the music industries top musicians and longtime cohorts for the project. Percussionist Sheila E, drummer Peter Michael Escovedo, steel pan master Andy Narell, trumpeter Michael “Patches” Stewart and Tower of Power drummer David Garibaldi, all make brief appearances. Santana members David K. Mathews, Karl Perazzo, Jeff Cressman and Bill Ortiz contribute their expertise.